Sir Terry Pratchett

This is not the post I envisaged kicking my blog off again with.

But its what I need to write about.

Sir Terry Pratchett died today.

Terry Pratchett

He wasn’t just a superb humorous fantasy author, he was an absolute gent of a man. A quirky individual with a constant smile, and a gentleness about him. He was one of my heroes.

I first encountered his books when I was 18 in 1990. A willowy blond called Larissa introduced me to The Colour of Magic at university, rhapsodising about the Unseen University and Rincewind. I’d loved straight fantasy like The Hobbit and David Eddings’ Belgariad, but this was my first excursion into funny yet sharp fantasy (I was 21 when I first read Douglas Adams).

I loved the witches books, and those about Death. Fast funny fiction, that led me to the likes of Adams and Robert Rankin. It was via Robert’s Facebook page that I learned of Sir Terry’s death today. This is what he posted:

I have just heard the heart-breaking news that my old friend Terry Pratchett has passed on. He was an enthusiastic supporter of my books back in the early days and gave me a great deal of valuable advice, although, regrettably I did not take much of it. We used to get into some glorious arguments after we’d had a few glasses of wine and shared a lot of laughs. He was a great man, I am proud that I knew him, the world has lost a wonderful talent. What a tragedy. Be at peace, Terry, we love you. I’m going to get drunk now.

I got drunk, too. I raised a glass with Him Underfoot to a man who made my life better. I re-read Neil Gaiman’s piece on his friendship with the man, well worth reading here.
Feck, I’m crying again. There are so few authors who can do this to me: Thomas Hardy, William Horwood, Neil Gaiman, Robert Rankin. Terry Pratchett. My world got a little smaller today.
My thoughts and my heart are with Terry’s family tonight. We lost a gentleman, they lost a loved one.
3 thoughts on “Sir Terry Pratchett

  1. Thank you for letting us know. I, too, am mourning this man who put so much humor into my life. I adore so many of his characters: Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, Magrat Garlick, Mort, the wizards at Unseen University, and of course, my favorite of all, Death. I am sure HE ushered Sir Terry’s soul most properly into the next life, as befitted the man who made HIM such an awesomely lovable entity.

    Rest in peace, Terry Pratchett. We will miss you, but never forget you.

  2. Ehh…I was saddened by the news, especially because I didn’t just enjoy his books; Sir Terry Pratchett’s writing was what got me through high school…he had such an amazing personality as an author. 😦

Leave a Reply

