Sally: Our Wonderful Dog

When I came back to blogging I mentioned that we’d lost our beautiful old dog Sally in December. Both of us were devastated. It has taken me a while to write about – to be able to write about – and I can’t thank the good folks at Den of Geek enough for today publishing my eulogy to Sally, The Loss of a Pet.

IMG_1343

There’s little else I want to add to the article, except to say that 6 weeks on her loss remains as great as ever. No soft ears to bury my face in, no velvety muzzle pushed into my hand seeking affection. No regular content breathing from my side of the bed, or warm furry body to hug when the insomnia bites me.

IMG_1297

Sally was awesome. Irreplaceable. I’m glad I got to tell people just how much loved she is.

IMG_0042

We will always miss you, beautiful girl.

15 thoughts on “Sally: Our Wonderful Dog

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry for your loss. My pets are just like close family to me too, so when my little, grumply lady dog passed last year I felt devastated as well…

  2. Ah she looks gorgeous, and such a loving dog. Sorry to hear about her loss; I read about the morning it was such a touching and beautiful eurolgy.

  3. I am SO sorry. Too many people just don’t understand that each of our fur children IS irreplaceable, just like each human is. When people say, “you can always get another one”, I just want to hit them. Because you can’t. In your heart, they leave an empty space where they should be that was not there before. I have several of those, and every single one was worth it.

    Love and hugs to you!

  4. I’ve only just seen this, and I’m so so sorry for your loss.

    She was a beautiful dog. Sending lots of love your way, I can’t imagine how you must be feeling. It is unbearably cruel that our pets cannot live as long as we can.

Leave a Reply

